Filed in News by on February 2, 2010

Ozekhome, Oguntade, Ekomaru, 16 others become SANs
By Tobi Soniyi, Abuja, Published: Tuesday, 2 Feb 2010

Nineteen lawyers, on Monday emerged successful out of the 48 shortlisted for the conferment of the rank of Senior Advocates of Nigeria.

Among the 19 lawyers are Chief Mike Ozekhome, Mr. George Oguntade, Mr. Chukwuma Akomaru, Mr. Adekunle Ogunba and Mrs. Dorothy Udeme Ufot.

Many of the successful lawyers practice in Lagos.

Announcing the names of those who scaled the screening hurdles at the Supreme Court on Monday, the Chief Registrar of the court and Secretary to the Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee, Usman Alhaji Musale said that another round of selection process would begin next week.

Monday’s announcement of the successful candidates confirmed PUNCH‘s exclusive report that the privileges committee was set to release the names of those who would be conferred with the rank.

Others who made the list are Nella Andem-Uwa, Joseph Nwobika, Offiong Effiong Bassey Offiong, Sylvia Shinaba, Francis Dike, Arthur Obi Okafor, Etigwe Owa and Jadekoge Adebanjo Badejo.

Abiodun Ishola Layonu, Toyin Pinheiro, Olusina Sofola, Samuel Mosugu, Andrew Chukwuemerie and Fabiam Ikenna Ajogwu were also successful.

Musale said that 126 lawyers applied for the rank. Out of these, 19 were academics while 107 are lawyers in active practice.

He explained that at the end of the exercise, 17 lawyers in active legal practice and two academics were selected.

He said that successful candidates would be inaugurated by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Aloysius Katsina-Alu on April 12, 2010.

Meanwhile, another selection process will begin next week when the privileges committee will call on interested lawyers to apply for the conferment of the award.

Cognisance of the criticism that greeted the just concluded exercise, the committee had set up a committee to review the guidelines for the selection.

Musale who disclosed this said that the committee was poised to make sure that every applicant was treated equally in the selection process.

He said, “Some of the hitches we recorded in the just concluded exercise necessitated the setting up of a committee under the chairmanship of the Chief Judge of Katsina state to review the guidelines.”

Although, no one was conferred with the rank in 2009, the committee treated those who emerged on Monday as 2009 SANs.

This implies that two sets of lawyers will get the award this year.


Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Nigerian free classifieds
Forum | Jobs | News | Privacy | Contact: nbf(at)nigerianbestforum.com