Filed in Politics by on April 11, 2011

ACN wins in Ogun, DPP in Delta Central, PDP takes Delta North
Monday, 11 April 2011 00:00 From Charles Coffie-Gyamfi and Olawunmi Ojo, Abeokuta Chido Okafor, Warri News – National

THE electorate in Ogun State overwhelmingly voted for the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) in the National Assembly elections held over the weekend.

A summary of the election results released by the Independent National Election Commission (INEC) Resident Election Commissioner (REC), Deacon Martins Ogunfolami yesterday, showed that ACN won in all of the senatorial districts and Federal House of Representatives constituencies except two.

While the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and People’s Party of Nigeria (PPN) won one seat respectively, there were upsets as the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole lost his seat to a relatively new politician, Mr. Olusegun Williams. While Williams scored 28,490 votes, Bankole scored 23,103 while the People’s Party of Nigeria (PPN) candidate, Mr. Ogundimu Afolabi scored 3,924 votes.

Senator Iyabo Obasanjo-Bello lost her Ogun Central Senatorial seat to Mr. Olugbenga Obadara. While ACN’s Obadara polled 102,389, Obasanjo–Bello polled 56,312 votes.

Former Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly,  Pius Ewherido of the Democratic Peoples Party (DPP) was yesterday declared winner in the election in the Delta central senatorial district by the returning officer Mr. Bethel Chuks Uweru.

Ewherido scored a total of 102, 313 votes to defeat the former Commissioner for Education  and Deputy Chairman of the Delta State Peoples Democratic Party  (PDP), Chief Ighoyota Amori who scored  85, 365  and the incumbent senator, Prof. Abednego Efarakeya who scored 10,190  votes.

Obule of the Justice Party who also participated in the senatorial election under the Justice Party scored 4,182

In the Federal House of Representatives under the Ughelli Udu Federal Constituency Austin Ogbaburhon of the DPP won with  total votes of 35,206 followed by the incumbent Mr. Solomon Awhinawhi who scored 22, 712 votes

Ifeanyi Okuwa, former Delta State SSG, won the Senate seat for Delta North while Victor Nwokolo of Accord Party defeated incumbent Representative Doris Ugboh in Ika Federal Constituency.

In the Ogun West Senatorial District contest, former deputy governor, Alhaji Adegbenga Kaka beat the incumbent, Senator Lekan Mustapha of the Labour Party. In the Ado-Odo/Ota Federal constituency, the ACN candidate, Mr. Babatunde Ogunola scored 19,890 to beat all the other candidates to claim the seat.

But in the Egbado North /Imeko Afon Federal constituency the PPN candidate, Hon. Adewusi Rasaq won the seat with 18,492 votes.

The victory was yesterday celebrated with wild jubilation before Deacon Ogunfolami officially announced the results. Based on unofficial results obtained by ACN supporters, they trooped to the streets, especially in Ake, Abeokuta area with brooms jubilating.

Meanwhile, the former Ogun State Governor, Chief Segun Osoba yesterday commended the various security agencies and the entire people of the state for collectively ensuring that the election was free, fair credible and peaceful.

Osoba however lamented that  an ACN supporter was killed on Saturday night by suspected thugs of one of the opposition parties in Saje area of Abeokuta and urged his party faithful to remain calm.

Bankole, also in a statement in Abeokuta accepted defeat and congratulated the winner of the election, saying the outcome of the election reflected the “wishes of the people in our national quest to ensure enduring democracy”.

Osoba who spoke at his GRA residence, particularly mentioned the State Police Command and the soldiers deployed for the election who, according to him, did a fantastic job in terms of providing security.


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Nigerian free classifieds
Forum | Jobs | News | Privacy | Contact: nbf(at)